Cycle 3: Reflection

How you have approached learning new things and/or finding new information during the semester?

I mostly relied on online researches whenever I found difficulties in both technical and non-technical aspects during the development. I am really eager to take an extra steps to pursue personal improvements in skills and knowledge, so I went through many online tutorials to help me with technical aspects, including basic modelling, advanced scripting and making animation in Unity. I also researched other similar games online to collect ideas regarding to environment and theme designs. For the third cycle, I also went online to research the similarities between Pokemon Go and Minecraft to analyse the preference patterns in Sam as well as to find out what game aspects that Sam would hate. Overall, I enjoy learning new things online as I can improve myself better with time flexibility.

What additional, non-technical skills you’ve developed during the semester?

Throughout the semester, I believe I have significantly developed my game design skills. The last game development cycle which required the team to develop game concept that suits the specific target audience demographic has trained me to design appropriate experience goals, relevant player stories, as well as game theme that is appealing to target audience. I developed my design thinking that enables me to learn the players’ preferences through their gaming experiences and behaviour. I also learned to document thoughts and researches through sketches and notes effectively, which can be used to develop ideas to build the main game concept. Through this skill development, I really see the significance of design stage, which motivates myself to develop my game design skills to a higher degree.

The most effective strategies you used for managing individual and team activities?

I personally found that working in a team is way more difficult compared to working individually since we need an extra skill for team management, which includes dividing tasks commensurately,  ensures everyone deliver the tasks in time, and integrating every chunks of the results into one big solution at the end. What I found most effective to manage team is developing an active communication channel to keep all the members engaged to the project. State clearly every task division, emphazise the deadlines of every tasks, inform every update we individually have progressed, appoint meetings a week in advanced, etc. For individual activities management, good time management is the ultimate answer for me. I set a deadline for every half a week for myself to accomplish my own task.

The ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team-based environment.

My studio team was really tolerant, supporting, and covering each other’s weaknesses, but we all were aware to keep the development activities as professional as possible by practicing good ethical responsibilities. Although all the members have unequal development skills and background, we did our best to give equal contributions to the prototype, e.g., member that has no experiences in Unity would focus on level designing and providing resources, member who is a programmer would focus on scripting and building mechanics, etc. We keep the communication optimum, reminding each other’s tasks, so each of the member is transparent and manage to deliver every task on time.

Leave a Reply

