Cycle 3 – Reflection

1. How you have approached learning new things and/or finding new information during the semester

In terms of the work I have completed over the semester, attaining information and learning has been done as needed; if I struggled on a code solution, searching for a solution online typically solved my matters. Learning in the workshops has been hard but rewarding, especially in understanding alternative perspectives and approaches to designing game concepts. Tutorials have been incredible learning experiences in talking to the tutors, found to be both knowledgeable in Unity and general game content.

2. What additional, non-technical skills you’ve developed during the semester

During the semester I have better understood how to construct game concepts and strip away content as need be. At the beginning, and even now, I find it difficult to strip content from a game idea as it feels like the game would be worse off for it, but now do recognise the value, and the much more important necessity, of at least creating a viable but smaller scoped product than an unfinished mess.

Though I do find soft skills such as conversing with group members and debating game ideas to be difficult. This is possibly due to the lack of a functioning group for a fair portion of the semester. Instead I find myself too heavily invested into my own ideas and wanting to reject most ideas offered by other team members. To cope with this, instead of compromising on an idea I would just drop my idea altogether and go with another’s idea to prevent team conflict. This would leave me unsatisfied in most cases but preferred the dissatisfaction to my team potentially falling apart again.

3. The most effective strategies you used for managing individual and team activities

The most effective strategy for managing individual and team activities was to meetup at another point over the week. By establishing a second point of contact, we were able to designate a day just for working on the game and allow for more discussion on ideas. This especially worked for ideas as we would often begin brainstorming for certain concepts relating to the activities for the week during the workshop but never really reach a conclusion. This second meeting allowed for us to develop ideas on our own and present them at a later date to finish the discussion.

4. The ethical responsibilities associated with working in a team-based environment. Areas to consider could include: justice (fair work practices); responsibility (specifying tasks, completing activities); honesty (avoiding deception); and reasonableness (level of participation, reaching consensus).

I feel the largest ethical responsibility required in a team-based environment is trusting one another. This is not only trust that you are being honest to each other but that you trust each other’s competency. I felt the importance of this working in this cycle, but throughout the entire semester I would question my team member’s competencies constantly and felt bitter doing so. Though I would never openly declare how I felt, most of my decisions in the earlier two cycles were guided by this. By the third cycle, I had near cemented this suspicion but while working in the group it seemed that they were more capable than I had initially thought. But even still, I do hold some reservations in trusting the ideas of group members wholeheartedly. This is something I have to learn to resolve with not only myself but attempt to resolve with team members when I feel this way.

To elaborate on the above, keeping lines of dialogue open between team members would be most beneficial to resolving such conflicts. This would particularly help in promoting honesty and reasonableness between team members so they may openly share ideas and challenge others when necessary.

Alternatively, the pre-coordinated delegation of work would go far in ensuring an even workload between team members. Even with this, all members of the team must be vocal and present to ensure everyone is satisfied and motivated to work towards a common goal.

Leave a Reply

