Reflection Post

What did you learn about professional development by going through the design process?

I found understanding the principle of professional game development by following the complete steps of design activities, starting from designing player experiences to creating a playtesting plan, is really important. This process has transformed my perspective into developing a more player-focus instead of mechanic-focus game. Having journals that lists down how players should experience and feel from playing the game, how they would behave through player stories, and what choices they would have, will give a great guidance to the development process. In my studio, the player experience goal that aims to player’s creativity to think outside the box helped my development to First Person puzzle game concept, and other supporting design journals also improved and sharpened many parts of its mechanics. Overall, I learned that the professional design process would help develop a more robust game by applying player-centric thinking approach.

What did you learn about the other majors in the degree by working in mixed teams?

I personally learned that communication plays a very significant role in game development team since there is no solo game developer. Every members in the studio with varying skill background are equally important. In my studio, every members focused on their main area. I built the whole game mechanics while my partner designed the game world, then we combined those resources together. Since every member focused on different area, maintaining a good communication in the team is very critical in order to prevent significant work mismatches. This has happened to me many times in my personal experiences working in a team, but I think how I and my teammates would respond to it will primarily determine the quality of the final work.

What did you implement in your own individual work that you found the most satisfying?

I found successfully building the interaction between objects through scripts was very rewarding. This included creating the relationship between the gravity gun to either carry or alter the weight of certain interactible objects, which involved playing with physics. This also included the mechanics between the interactible objects and the stone buttons, which were directly related to the gate objects. Overall, what make me find completing this part most satisfying was actually when I could successfully ensure that there will be no bugs among hundreds different possibilities players could face in the object interaction. This because as my personal experiences being a Computer Science student, developing a free-bugs app is extremely challenging. I found that not only finding and fixing many parts of the scripts that contained bugs improved my technical development skills, but it also boosted my confidence in building games.

Do you think that there are any ethical issues attached to designing a First Person Experience inspired by recent events?

According to a personal perspective, one main ethical issue of designing a game using the idea from recent events is a high risk of being tedious. Games are enjoyable when they bring imaginative concepts and uncommon experiences to players, however events are realistics and mostly common – the main idea of the events are similar. It is difficult to turn events into a completely new imaginative and uncommon gameplay. Beside that, building a game concept using recent events most likely has a predictable background story or mechanics, which I believe the excitement would not last long.

Leave a Reply

